God’s ways are not our ways.. Jesus is God’s way.


When I think that I am starting know all there is to know about God, He reminds me that my theology is just “my theology”…. If it is my theology, it is probably inadequate….. God has His own way of teaching us about Himself… The only thing I ever want to preach, teach or share is His theology….. Yes, we have the capability of understanding Who He really is because He originally designed and created us (Humans) in His image…..

The only problem is that our theology gets in the way of that understanding…. You see, our understanding of who God is, is faulty…. We think God is like us… Heck, Most of the time we think that we are god…. We just don’t say that out loud… That is our nature… We have this sinful way of thinking that we are our own god…..

The only way to bring us back to the way we were created is for God Himself to remake us…. It is called born-again….. Jesus has to remove our sinful nature and replace it with His nature or His character… When we have this new nature we can understand who Jesus really is…. We have help with this understanding by God Himself the Holy Spirit….. He explains all of God to us…

But we can still find a faulty way of explaining God if we try to make Him to be like us… That is my fear… That I would misrepresent God to look like me… Let’s say, that I say, God is my Father (Which He is)… If I make Him to be like my father I have misrepresented Who God really is…. His ways are not our ways…. His thoughts are not our thoughts…. God does things completely different than “us humans” do things…. When we punish people for doing bad things we do it to them directly. We do that because they are the ones that deserve the punishment… Sounds right doesn’t….. That is the way the world and us worldlings do things….

That is not the way God does it… You see, When God punishes, He wants the punishment to satisfy His wrath or His judgment.. No matter what He does to us it will never satisfy His wrath…Sending me to hell will not satisfy God’s wrath… God could whack my over the head with a stick every day for eternity and it would not pay the price for my first sin….Many people will go to hell and they will never have their first sin paid for because they reject God’s way of doing things… God’s ways are not our ways….. God’s way is that someone perfect has to pay for my sin…. The only payment for sin is that, that perfect someone has to die for punishment for my sin…. Jesus Christ is the only perfect somebody who can do that….

Jesus had to take my punishment…. That is the only punishment that will satisfy God’s wrath…. I don’t have to take that whacking… Jesus already did that… Even now when I deserve to be punished because of my actions or my inactions all God has to do is remind me that Jesus already took my punishment… That is how he teaches me to follow Jesus…. He knows that the circumstances of life will whack me around enough as it is… Even if I do something that causes me to suffer the consequences of my actions or if it is just life that happens, Jesus will teach me from that….. God’s ways are not our ways.. If I say that God still punishes me when I mess up then I am making Him to look like me….. Jesus does not want to look like me He wants me to look like Him… He wants me to have His Character… That is the way He originally created us humans…

John 3:3–21 (NLT) Jesus replied, “I tell you the truth, unless you are born again, you cannot see the Kingdom of God.”

“What do you mean?” exclaimed Nicodemus. “How can an old man go back into his mother’s womb and be born again?”

Jesus replied, “I assure you, no one can enter the Kingdom of God without being born of water and the Spirit. Humans can reproduce only human life, but the Holy Spirit gives birth to spiritual life.* So don’t be surprised when I say, ‘You* must be born again.’ The wind blows wherever it wants. Just as you can hear the wind but can’t tell where it comes from or where it is going, so you can’t explain how people are born of the Spirit.” “How are these things possible?” Nicodemus asked. 10 Jesus replied, “You are a respected Jewish teacher, and yet you don’t understand these things? 11 I assure you, we tell you what we know and have seen, and yet you won’t believe our testimony. 12 But if you don’t believe me when I tell you about earthly things, how can you possibly believe if I tell you about heavenly things? 13 No one has ever gone to heaven and returned. But the Son of Man* has come down from heaven. 14 And as Moses lifted up the bronze snake on a pole in the wilderness, so the Son of Man must be lifted up, 15 so that everyone who believes in him will have eternal life.*

16 “For God loved the world so much that he gave his one and only Son, so that everyone who believes in him will not perish but have eternal life. 17 God sent his Son into the world not to judge the world, but to save the world through him.

18 “There is no judgment against anyone who believes in him. But anyone who does not believe in him has already been judged for not believing in God’s one and only Son. 19 And the judgment is based on this fact: God’s light came into the world, but people loved the darkness more than the light, for their actions were evil. 20 All who do evil hate the light and refuse to go near it for fear their sins will be exposed. 21 But those who do what is right come to the light so others can see that they are doing what God wants.*”

 Matthew 5:3–26 (NLT) “God blesses those who are poor and realize their need for him, for the Kingdom of Heaven is theirs.

God blesses those who mourn, for they will be comforted.

God blesses those who are humble, for they will inherit the whole earth. God blesses those who hunger and thirst for justice,* for they will be satisfied.God blesses those who are merciful, for they will be shown mercy. God blesses those whose hearts are pure, for they will see God. God blesses those who work for peace, for they will be called the children of God. 10 God blesses those who are persecuted for doing right, for the Kingdom of Heaven is theirs. 11 “God blesses you when people mock you and persecute you and lie about you* and say all sorts of evil things against you because you are my followers. 12 Be happy about it! Be very glad! For a great reward awaits you in heaven. And remember, the ancient prophets were persecuted in the same way. 13 “You are the salt of the earth. But what good is salt if it has lost its flavor? Can you make it salty again? It will be thrown out and trampled underfoot as worthless.

14 “You are the light of the world—like a city on a hilltop that cannot be hidden. 15 No one lights a lamp and then puts it under a basket. Instead, a lamp is placed on a stand, where it gives light to everyone in the house. 16 In the same way, let your good deeds shine out for all to see, so that everyone will praise your heavenly Father.

17 “Don’t misunderstand why I have come. I did not come to abolish the law of Moses or the writings of the prophets. No, I came to accomplish their purpose. 18 I tell you the truth, until heaven and earth disappear, not even the smallest detail of God’s law will disappear until its purpose is achieved. 19 So if you ignore the least commandment and teach others to do the same, you will be called the least in the Kingdom of Heaven. But anyone who obeys God’s laws and teaches them will be called great in the Kingdom of Heaven.

20 “But I warn you—unless your righteousness is better than the righteousness of the teachers of religious law and the Pharisees, you will never enter the Kingdom of Heaven!

21 “You have heard that our ancestors were told, ‘You must not murder. If you commit murder, you are subject to judgment.’* 22 But I say, if you are even angry with someone,* you are subject to judgment! If you call someone an idiot,* you are in danger of being brought before the court. And if you curse someone,* you are in danger of the fires of hell.*

23 “So if you are presenting a sacrifice* at the altar in the Temple and you suddenly remember that someone has something against you, 24 leave your sacrifice there at the altar. Go and be reconciled to that person. Then come and offer your sacrifice to God.

25 “When you are on the way to court with your adversary, settle your differences quickly. Otherwise, your accuser may hand you over to the judge, who will hand you over to an officer, and you will be thrown into prison. 26 And if that happens, you surely won’t be free again until you have paid the last penny.


About Terry Brewington

I realized that God loved me in January of 1991 when I took Mary Lou and my sons to church. I fell in love with Him because of His love for me. I never thought that anyone really loved me. God met me at the point of My need. Romans 5:8 8 But God showed his great love for us by sending Christ to die for us while we were still sinners. I am retired/disability because of fibromyalgia. God has poured out his blessings on me and my family in spite of the pain in my body. I love spending time with My wife Mary Lou...Whenever she is around I try to give her all of my attention...She is the glue that holds me together...There were times that we have had trouble as husband and wife. However, we have been best friends since I was 16 years old... I enjoy riding my Harley. It is one of the activities that does not cause me much pain... I love to teach and preach God's word. My pastor allows me to teach the Wednesday night Bible study and prayer time at Bartlett Baptist Church. That gives me an outlet for exercising the gift that Holy Spirit has given me. My time in study has been enlightening to say the least.. God has revealed Himself to me in a new/old way..That is to teach His word as plainly as I can and make it as simple as it really is.. He has also given me this place of ministry here on facebook. Thank you for letting me be your friend. I love to preach and teach God's word. I have opened my life to Him and desire to follow Him where ever He leads me.
This entry was posted in Loving Jesus and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

